Douglas County No-Wake Zones In Effect On Area Lakes

To protect shorelines with lake levels extraordinarily high, the Douglas County Board of Commissioners recently approved a recommendation to enact temporary slow, no-wake zones on 19 lakes. These no-wake zones will be in effect from June 17 thru July 15. Officials say high-water level is already doing substantial damage to shorelines and fast-moving watercraft will only make the problem worse. The no-wake restrictions will limit environmental damage and shoreline erosion. MN DNR Conservation Officers and the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office Water Patrol will be enforcing the no-wake restrictions.

From the Douglas County Board:

The following lakes are included in this mandatory no-wake restriction: Brophy, Burgen, Carlos, Chippewa, Cowdry, Darling, Devils, Geneva, Ida, Latoka, Le Homme Dieu, Little Chippewa, Lobster, Louise, Maple, Miltona, Rachel, Vermont and Victoria.

For more information click on this link:

Check Also

Otter Tail, Douglas Counties Report First COVID-19 Cases; Nine Deaths Total In Minnesota

The first confirmed cases of coronavirus in Otter Tail and Douglas counties were reported Sunday.