Local News

No Wake Zone – Water Levels High


Attention Boaters: there is a temporary no wake zone set on 17 different lakes in Douglas County. These no-wake zones will be in effect from June 17 through July 15. Lake levels are extremely high right now, with many being a foot above normal. These levels do substantial damage to the shoreline. Slow down well before, meaning 5 mph within 300 feet of the shore.

The following lakes are included in this mandatory no-wake restriction: Brophy, Burgen, Carlos, Chippewa, Cowdry, Darling, Devils, Geneva, Ida, Latoka, Le Homme Dieu, Little Chippewa, Lobster, Louise, Maple, Miltona, Rachel, Vermont and Victoria.